Books…..what they really do for children.

images

I was always a book lover. I remember my mom yelling at me to turn my lights off and go to bed while I was in the middle of a really good book. Books take me to a special place, it has always been that way even since I was a child.

Now that i’m an adult, I try to encourage my baby brother to read as much books as he can. Since i’m getting into the library field  I borrow books for him and we try reading every night before he goes to sleep. Lately he’s been taken by books on out of space. When we read I see this glow on his face, he asks so much questions and we get so wrapped up in the story, it’s an unbelievable feeling. Last night after reading a book about the solar system entitled “Kingdom of the sun”, he looked up to me with this big smile on his face and said “Luvern, when I grow up i’m gonna be an astronomer!” My my, what a good book can do for an enthusiastic child.

Leave a Reply

